Established in 1899, Roanoke Country Club officially opened it’s doors to members in 1908 with a nine hole golf course and two tennis courts. As a welcome haven for local railroad workers and their families, the site was ideally located in the rolling hills just outside of downtown Roanoke near an area known locally as Shaffer’s Crossing. Renowned for it’s massive engine turn-table, this was the only yard in which to turn a locomotive around within hundreds of miles for many years.
Today the club boasts 27 holes of USGA golf as designed by renowned architects A. W. Tillinghast (1919) and Lester George (2002), including 6 outdoor and 5 indoor clay tennis courts (1940), an olympic-sized swimming pool and a newly-renovated clubhouse (2000).
The railroad moved it’s offices south more than 30 years ago, causing many who had built their homes around the grounds to place their properties up for sale or lease and head south to Atlanta with their jobs. Homes of all sizes and distinction surrounding the property today stand as rings in a tree, revealing the historic charm and style of a generation past.
Photos: (upper) rear view of clubhouse and practice green, (lower) Dogwood #9 green; summer 2014. Exposure via Sony a7R + Leica 18mm Super-Elmar M, processing via PhotomatixPro and Adobe Photoshop CC.